

2905 Corporate Circle

Flower Mound, TX 75028

Phone: 972-353-4174

Fax: 972-221-9316

#### **Partners**

Thomas E. Black, Jr. 1

Gregory S. Graham 2

Shawn P. Black <sup>4</sup>

Regina M. Uhl <sup>3</sup>‡

### Senior Lawyers

David F. Dulock

Diane M. Gleason

### **Associates**

Peter B. Idziak <sup>4</sup>

Daniel S. Engle 4

**Nick Stevens** 

**Syndy Davis** 

## Of Counsel

David M. Tritter

Calvin C. Mann, Jr.

### Retired Partner(s)

Calvin C. Mann, Jr.

1 Also Licensed in Iowa, New York, Washington

2 Also Licensed in Georgia

3 Also Licensed in Kentucky and Illinois

4 Also Licensed in New York

‡ Board Certified- Residential Real Estate Law- Texas Board of Legal Specialization

## October 26, 2017

**To:** Clients and Friends

From: Daniel S. Engle

Subject: Temporary Exceptions to Appraisal Requirements for Depository

Institutions Making Loans in Disaster Areas Impacted by Hurricanes

Harvey, Irma, and Maria

In the October 24, 2017 issue of the *Federal Register* (82 FR 49089) (*click here*) the Department of the Treasury's Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Federal Reserve System, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, and the National Credit Union Administration (collectively the "Agencies"), published a Statement and Order creating temporary exceptions to the statutory and regulatory appraisal requirements imposed on depository-institution lenders pursuant to the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989 for areas of the United States impacted by Hurricanes Harvey, Irma, and Maria. The exceptions will last for three years, dated from when the President declared a major disaster in an area.

For a transaction to qualify for the exception to the appraisal requirements, lenders must determine: 1) the property involved is in a location that was named as a major disaster area; (2) there is a binding commitment to fund the transaction that was entered into on or within 36 months of the date that the area was declared a major disaster; and (3) the value of the real property supports the institution's decision to enter into the transaction. Lenders must retain documentation of their findings, and transactions will continue to be subject to review by the lenders' management and the Agencies. Areas named by the President as major disaster areas as well as the applicable time frame in which these areas are eligible for the temporary exceptions are listed below:

# Hurricane Harvey:

Texas—from August 25, 2017 to August 24, 2020 in the counties of Aransas, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, Sabine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, and Wharton.

## Hurricane Irma:

Florida—from September 10, 2017 to September 9, 2020 in the counties of Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Brevard, Broward, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Collier, Columbia, DeSoto, Dixie, Duval, Flagler, Gilchrist, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Hernando, Highlands, Hillsborough, Indian River, Lafayette, Lake, Lee, Levy, Manatee, Marion, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Nassau, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Sarasota, Seminole, St. Johns, St. Lucie, Sumter, Suwannee, Union, and Volusia.

Temporary Exceptions to Appraisal Requirements October 26, 2017 Page 2 of 2 Pages

## Hurricane Irma continued:

*Georgia*—from September 15, 2017 to September 14, 2020 in the counties of Camden, Chatham, and Glynn.

*Puerto Rico*—from September 10, 2017 to September 9, 2020 in the municipalities of Canóvanas, Culebra, Loíza, and Vieques.

*United States Virgin Islands*—from September 7, 2017 to September 6, 2020 in the islands of St. John and St. Thomas.

### Hurricane Maria:

Puerto Rico—from September 20, 2017 to September 19, 2020 in the municipalities of Aguas Buenas, Aibonito, Arecibo, Arroyo, Barceloneta, Barranquitas, Bayamón, Caguas, Canóvanas, Carolina, Cataño, Cayey, Ceiba, Ciales, Cidra, Coamo, Comerio, Corozal, Culebra, Dorado, Fajardo, Florida, Guayama, Guaynabo, Gurabo, Humacao, Jayuya, Juana Díaz, Juncos, Las Piedras, Loíza, Luquillo, Manati, Maunabo, Morovis, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Patillas, Ponce, Rio Grande, Salinas, San Juan, San Lorenzo, Santa Isabel, Toa Alta, Toa Baja, Trujillo Alto, Utuado, Vega Alta, Vega Baja, Vieques, Villalba, and Yabucoa.

*United States Virgin Islands*—from September 21, 2017 to September 20, 2020 in the island of St. Croix.

This Memorandum is provided as general information in regard to the subject matter covered, but no representations or warranty of the accuracy or reliability of the content of this information are made or implied. Opinions expressed in this memorandum are those of the author alone. In publishing this information, neither the author nor the law firm of Black, Mann & Graham L.L.P. is engaged in rendering legal services. While this information concerns legal and regulatory matters, it is not legal advice and its use creates no attorney-client relationship or any other basis for reliance on the information. Readers should not place reliance on this information alone, but should seek independent legal advice regarding the law applicable to matters of interest or concern to them. The law firm of Black, Mann & Graham L.L.P. expressly disclaims any obligation to keep the content of this information current or free of errors.