

9575 Katy Freeway, Suite 300

Houston, TX 77024

Phone: 713-871-0005

Fax: 713-871-1358

Partners

Thomas E. Black, Jr., P.C.*
Gregory S. Graham., P.C.
Shawn P. Black., P.C.**
Regina M. Uhl., P.C.***

Senior Lawyers

David F. Dulock
Diane M. Gleason

Associates

Peter B. Idziak**

Daniel S. Engle**

Of Counsel

David M. Tritter Benjamin R. Idziak** Calvin C. Mann, Jr.

Retired Partner(s)

Calvin C. Mann, Jr.

February 22, 2016

To: Clients and Friends

From: David F. Dulock

Subject: FEMA Issues Final Rule Identifying Communities Suspended From

Participation in National Flood Insurance Program

In the February 17, 2016, issue of the *Federal Register* (*click here*) the FEMA issued a final rule listing certain communities that are suspended from participation in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) because of noncompliance with the floodplain management requirements of NFIP. The suspension becomes effective on March 16, 2016. This means that, as of March 16, 2016, flood insurance will no longer be available in those communities. See March 16, 2106, suspension list below.

If, however, FEMA receives documentation before that date that a suspended community has adopted the required floodplain management measures, that community will not be suspended and will continue to be eligible for the sale of NFIP flood insurance. A notice withdrawing the suspension of such community will be published in the *Federal Register*.

In addition, the final rule provides that no direct Federal financial assistance (except assistance pursuant to the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act not in connection with a flood) may be provided for construction or acquisition of buildings in identified SFHAs for communities not participating in the NFIP and identified for more than a year on FEMA's initial FIRM for the community as having flood-prone areas. This prohibition against certain types of Federal assistance also becomes effective for these communities on March 16, 2016.

State and location	Community No
Region I	
MASSACHUSETTS:	
Boston, City of, Suffolk County	250286
Chelsea, City of, Suffolk County	250287
Revere, City of, Suffolk County	250288
Winthrop, Town of, Suffolk County	250289
Region IV	
ALABAMA:	
Anniston, City of, Calhoun County	010020
Attalla, City of, Etowah County	010079
Calhoun County, Unincorporated Areas	010013
Centre, City of, Cherokee County	010233
Cherokee County, Unincorporated Areas	010234
Childersburg, City of, Talladega County	010197
Etowah County, Unincorporated Areas	010077
Gadsden, City of, Etowah County	010080
Glencoe, City of, Etowah County	010081
Hobson City, Town of, Calhoun County	010021
Hokes Bluff, Town of, Etowah County	010254
Jacksonville, City of, Calhoun County	010022
Lincoln, City of, Talladega County	010198
Ohatchee, Town of, Calhoun County	010232

^{*} Also Licensed in Iowa, New York, Washington and West Virginia

^{**} Also Licensed in New York

^{***} Also Licensed in Kentucky

State and location	Community No
Oxford, City of, Calhoun and Talladega Counties	010023
Piedmont, City of, Calhoun County	010024
Rainbow City, City of, Etowah County	010351
Reece City, Town of, Etowah County	010253
Sardis City, Town of, Etowah County	010361
Southside, City of, Etowah County	010082
Sylacauga, City of, Talladega County	010199
Talladega, City of, Talladega County	010200
Talladega County, Unincorporated Areas	010297
Weaver, City of, Calhoun County	010025
Region V	
INDIANA:	
Gary, City of, Lake County	180132
Griffith, Town of, Lake County	185175
Highland, Town of, Lake County	185176
Lake County, Unincorporated Areas	180126
Munster, Town of, Lake County	180139
Schererville, Town of, Lake County	180142
MINNESOTA:	
Hastings, City of, Dakota and Washington Counties	270105
OHIO:	
Holland, Village of, Lucas County	390659
Lucas County, Unincorporated Areas	390359
Ottawa Hills, Village of, Lucas County	390362
Sylvania, City of, Lucas County	390364
Toledo, City of, Lucas County	395373
Region VII	
KANSAS:	
Bourbon County, Unincorporated Areas	200022
Region VIII	
COLORADO:	
Castle Rock, Town of, Douglas County	080050
Douglas County, Unincorporated Areas	080049
Larkspur, Town of, Douglas County	080309
Lone Tree, City of, Douglas County	080319
Parker, Town of, Douglas County	080310

To determine if particular community was suspended on March 16, 2106, contact Patricia Suber, Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration, FEMA, 500 C Street SW., Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646–4149.

This Memorandum is provided as general information in regard to the subject matter covered, but no representations or warranty of the accuracy or reliability of the content of this information are made or implied. Opinions expressed in this memorandum are those of the author alone. In publishing this information, neither the author nor the law firm of Black, Mann & Graham L.L.P. is engaged in rendering legal services. While this information concerns legal and regulatory matters, it is not legal advice and its use creates no attorney-client relationship or any other basis for reliance on the information. Readers should not place reliance on this information alone, but should seek independent legal advice regarding the law applicable to matters of interest or concern to them. The law firm of Black, Mann & Graham L.L.P. expressly disclaims any obligation to keep the content of this information current or free of errors.